Hi! From Nathan Speirs

Hello! My name is Nathan, I may have met some of you already during your introductory lecture and campus tour but I thought I would introduce myself properly here. I am a final year student studying an English Language and English Literature MA here at the university. I have worked for EAS previously, and there’s a good chance that if you have friends who did a pre-sessional course last year I might know them!  I’m here as an intern for EAS until September, and I’m really looking forward to getting to know you all at Chat Club and during our weekend trips. Firstly, though, let me just briefly tell you a little bit more about myself.

Nathan

(I have a wide repertoire of faces for all occasions)

I am 21 years old and I have lived in Glasgow for most of my life. I was born right in the city centre and grew up in a town just outside of Glasgow, but I moved back here when I was 13 years old – so I am well suited to give you a little bit of insight about the city and what it is like living here. If you have any questions for me, please ask! I’m nice I swear!

Once I graduate from university my goal is to save up money for a Master’s degree at the university, just like most of you will be studying in September. I believe in pursuing one’s aspirations and I am very interested in doing some research into narrative from a linguistic perspective as part of further study in English Language. I considered becoming a teacher but decided against it in order to pursue further study at Glasgow, it’s going to be tough and involve a lot of hard work if I want to keep studying but I’m willing to do it! I know a lot of you will be in a similar situation and are very hard workers, I will no doubt be chatting to you about this at chat club if you attend.

 

My other main goal for the future is to travel a little bit; unlike most of you I am not very well travelled and am hoping to change this. I have travelled to France, Holland, England, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland in my life, but would like to travel more around Europe and outside of it in the coming years. If you would like to tell me a little bit more about your home country I would love to speak to you because it will give me an insight into what life is like in your home country, who knows, maybe I will travel there!

 

I recently wrote and completed my dissertation, which was about the nature of narrative in video games. If you have an interest in video games I am always willing to chat about it, I love video games and I’m hoping to study them further in the future.

 

Nathan 2

(Me with my dissertation at the quadrangles before handing it in)

 

I currently live in the west end with two housemates and two small but devious cats, but my family live in the east end of Glasgow, where I am originally from. At home I lived with my mum, dad, sister, grandmother, grandfather and my dog. You may notice that I regard my dog as part of my family, and you will definitely hear me talk about my dog a lot during the summer. In my spare time I read fantasy novels or science fiction novels, play and write music, play video games, go to bars and clubs with my friends, or go on drives to the countryside with my girlfriend. I enjoy hillwalking a lot and regularly exercise at the gym, although I don’t go as often as I should.

Nathan 3.png

(I like animals, can you tell?)

So, that’s it for my brief but hopefully entertaining introduction! I hope to see you all on the trips and at chat club, don’t be shy!

 

Leave a Reply

